In Late Autumn

In Late Autumn

By Vojislav Ilić

Hark! The wind moans across our empty plains
Rolling thick fog down the vale damp and dreary
A raven soars with a shriek and hovers above me,
The skies are all bleary.
Neighing, a soaked little horse to the village speeds,
And I already see before me my home poor and old:
At the door, an old lady her wet poultry she feeds
A huge furry-tail dog beside her at the threshold –
And the gloomy wind whistles through the dark fields
Rolling thick fog down the vale damp and dreary
A raven soars with a shriek and hovers above me,
The skies are all bleary.

Translation from the Serbian by:
Ljiljana Parović

U poznu jesen

Čuj, kako jauče vetar kroz puste poljane naše
I guste slojeve magle u vlažni valja do…
Sa krikom uzleće gavran i kruži nad mojom glavom,
Mutno je nebo svo.
Frkće okiso konjic i žurno u selo grabi,
I vec pred sobom vidim ubog i stari dom:
Na pragu starica stoji i mokru živinu vabi,
I s repom kosmatim svojim ogroman zeljov s njom-
A vetar sumorno zviždi kroz crna i pusta polja,
I guste slojeve magle u vlažni valja do…
Sa krikom uzlece gavran i kruži nad mojom glavom,
Mutno je nebo svo.

Leave a Reply

