Friendship

Friendship

By Meša Selimović

…Now I understand: it is friendship, the love of others.
Everything else can deceive, but friendship cannot. Everything
Else can vanish and render us desolate, but it cannot, because
It depends on us. I cannot say to him: Be my friend. But,
I can say, I will be your friend.

But, be that as it may, I could not doubt
His friendship. I grew fond of him, I know it by the fact
That I became needy of him, that I did not object to
Anything he had said or done, and that everything that was his
Became important to me.

Love is probably the only thing in the world that calls for
No explanation or reason.
Yet, I’m doing so at least in order to mention
Once again the man who instilled so much happiness into
My life. I asked him once, how come he had bestowed his friendship
Precisely on me.
Friendship is not chosen, it occurs who knows why, just like love…

And, I have not bestowed anything on you, but on me…

Translation by: Ljiljana Parović

Prijateljstvo

…Sad sam shvatio: to je prijateljstvo, ljubav prema drugome. Sve
drugo može da prevari to ne može. Sve drugo može
da izmakne i ostavi nas puste, to ne može, jer zavisi od nas
Ne mogu da mu kažem: budi mi prijatelj. Ali mogu da kažem,
biću ti prijatelj.

Ali, bilo ovako ili onako, u njegovo prijateljstvo
nisam mogao sumnjati. Zavolio sam ga, znam po tome
što mi je postao potreban, što nisam zamjerio
ničemu ma šta da je rekao ili učinio, i što mi je sve njegovo
postalo važno.

Ljubav je valjda jedina stvar na svijetu koju ne treba
objašnjavati ni tražiti joj razloge.
Pa ipak to činim, makar samo zato da još jednom
pomenem čovjeka koji je unio toliko radosti
u moj život. Pitao sam ga jednom, kako to da je baš meni
poklonio svoje prijateljstvo.
Prijateljstvo se ne bira, ono biva ko zna zbog čega kao ljubav…

A ništa ja nisam poklonio tebi
već sebi…

IMG_2251

Leave a Reply

