А Transitional Generation

А Transitional Generation

By Milan Rakić

It was Lord’s will to create me diverse,
In the land where life is dull and dreary;
Days go by, neither better nor worse,
Grey, they sink into an infinity bleary.

A different soul have I given unto me,
And with it new desires and new needs,
As here I suffer the slings of ill destiny,
I crave another world where my soul leads.

I, the drifter, am perpetually on the go
‘Twixt the realms of things and of desire:
As one besets me like some enemy dire,
The other flowers covertly does throw.

Therefore I shall perish in destiny’s storm,
The vindictive time will trample me upon,
For I am beyond it, my blood is all warm,
I do not tread the path that is walked on.

I shall crumble and fall and so will all who
Were born with restless souls, in the land
Of philistine passion and wrongs planned,
When some strange feelings we do pursue!

Such is our destiny! Nobody will know
That we used to be the first, albeit small,
And that on our posterity we did bestow,
A new language with new feelings all.

For it was Lord’s will to create us diverse,
At the age of living a life dull and dreary,
When days are neither better nor worse,
And people are lukewarm, simple, weary…

Translated from the Serbian by:
Ljiljana Parović

ПРЕЛАЗНО ПОКОЛЕЊЕ

Господ је тако хтео да ме створи
У земљи где се монотоно живи;
Промичу дани ни бољи ни гори,
И, сиви, клизе у недоглед сиви.

А сâм сам себи другу душу дао,
И с њоме чежње и потребе нове,
И док ме овде гњечи удес зао,
У пределе ме друге душа зове.

И, шеталица, ја се вечно крећем
Између света чезнућа и ствари:
Један ме гони као крвник стари,
А други кришом посипа ме цвећем.

А судбина ће зато да ме смрви,
И осветничко време да ме згази,
Јер сам ван њега, узавреле крви,
И не корачам по утртој стази.

Пропашћу и ја, и са мном сви они
Рођени с душом немирном, у дане
Ћифтинске страсти и намерне мане,
Кад необичан осећај се гони!

Таква је судба! Нико неће знати
Да некад бесмо први, премда мали,
Колену нашем да смо, као мати,
Нов језик с новим осећајем дали.

Јер Бог је тако хтео да нас створи
У доба кад се монотоно живи,
Кад дани нису ни бољи ни гори,
А људи млаки, једноставни, сиви…

Image result for milan rakić

Leave a Reply

