As I Recall

As I Recall

By Jovan Jovanović-Zmaj

As I recall, darling mine,
Thy shiny ruddy cheek,
Then I drink no other wine,
It’s the red one that I seek.

But as I call to mind,
The dark eyes of thine:
“Bartender, be so kind,
Bring me only dark wine!”

And I drink, sing and cry,
Out of sorrow, joy divine,
But I stumble as off go I,
Out of love, due to wine.

From a window looks thy
Mama and smiles, o shame!
“Laugh not, dear lady my,
Thy daughter is to blame!”

Translated from the Serbian by:
Ljiljana Parović

XIII КАД СЕ СЕТИМ

Кад се сетим, мила душо,
Руменила лица твога,
Тад не пијем друга вина,
Него само црвенога.

Ал’ када ми на ум дођу,
Дођу твоје црне очи,
Онда крчмар ништ’ не ради,
Само црно вино точи.

А ја пијем, певам, плачем,
Од жалости, од милина,
Па кад пођем, ја посрнем,
Од љубави – и од вина.

Ал’ с прозора твоја мајка
Гледа, па се осмехива,
– „Не смејте се, драга госпо,
Том је ваша ћерка крива!“

red red wine

Leave a Reply

