I Love Thee, Darling!

I Love Thee, Darling!

By Vojislav Ilić

Silence descends as in draws twilight,
All universe is sinking into tranquility.
The evening star is glimmering bright:

Everyone is merry – everyone but me!
Disquiet is sealed within my heart, alas,
My woeful heart that beats so lovingly!

Thro’ quiet meads my heart shall pass
Towards a more wonderful land far away:
From her sleep to wake my darling lass

To the tune of a flute, with a sigh no gay.
Or to whisper to her like a fair breeze:
I love thee, darling, more than I can say.

Translation from the Serbian by:
Ljiljana Parović

LjUBIM TE, DUŠO!

Sumračak pada; tišina se svija,
U milu tone vasiona sva;
Večernja zvezda treperi i sija:

Veselo sve je – samo nisam ja!
Nemir mi stiskô umorene grudi,
Nesrećno srce što ljubiti zna!

Kroz tiha polja srdašce mi žudi
Daleko tamo, u bajniji svet:
Da zlato svoje iza sanka budi

Uz glasak frule, uz uzdisaj klet…
Il’ da joj šapne povetarcem blagim:
Ljubim te, dušo, više nego svet.

8 thoughts on “I Love Thee, Darling!

      1. It must be. I translate from Dutch but never attempted to translate poetry. Would find it hard to find the right words as some wouldn’t rhyme or sound right. Well done you! 🙂

        Like

      2. Well, one of the problems lies in us not being native speakers of English. Nevertheless, you should give it a try. It calls for a great deal of patience and effort, but it’s worthwhile. It is believed that to produce a good translation of any poem you need to be a poet yourself. Given that you possess evident poetic skills, I think you could be a fine poetry translator, too. Test yourself! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you for your kind words. I ljiks you lol 🙂 I am also a native English speaker as I lived in Canada as well and speak English every day. Still in some languages you say things differently. But I will give it a go and see if I can manage to translate something.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I noticed your good command of English, but didn’t know that you’d lived in Canada. One more thing – any translation of poetry is practically a new and original work as there is no strict and absolutely true rendition of any verse. Therefore, give it a go and by all means let us know of your experience and of course, the outcome of your endeavors. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

